

Resolution No. 120

Appointing Two Members to Second Terms for the Restoration Authority's Independent Citizens Oversight Committee

Whereas, the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority ("Authority") was established by the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority Act, California Government Code Section 66700 et seq. ("Act") as a regional entity to generate and allocate resources for the protection and enhancement of tidal wetlands and wildlife habitat in San Francisco Bay and along its shoreline; and

Whereas, in June of 2016, the San Francisco Bay Clean Water, Pollution Prevention and Habitat Restoration Measure ("Measure AA") passed with over a two-thirds majority in the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area; and

Whereas, Measure AA requires that the Authority appoint six members of the public to an Independent Citizens Oversight Committee ("Oversight Committee") that shall: (a) annually review the Authority's conformance with Measure AA; (b) review the Authority's audits and expenditure and financial reports; and (c) publish an annual report of its findings, which shall be posted on the Authority's website; and

Whereas, Measure AA further requires that the six members of the Oversight Committee shall include residents of the North Bay, East Bay, West Bay, and South Bay, as defined in Government Code 66703(a), who are experts in water quality, pollution reduction, habitat restoration, flood protection, improvement of public access to the Bay, or financing of these objectives; and

Whereas, the Authority has adopted the *San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority Independent Citizens Oversight Committee Procedural Document*, adopted April 27, 2016, amended February 10, 2017, October 15, 2021, and October 20, 2023 ("Procedural Document"); and

Whereas, James Fiedler from Costa County and Dr. Terry Young from Alameda County are currently serving on the Oversight Committee, filling the East Bay seat and at-large seat, respectively, with their first terms set to expire on December 31, 2023; and

Whereas, James Fiedler and Dr. Terry Young are both highly qualified individuals and have been active members of the Oversight Committee during their first terms, as described in Exhibit A and listed below; and

Whereas, the Procedural Document states that the Governing Board may reappoint members to a second term without following the regular appointment process.

Now Therefore Be It Resolved, that the Governing Board of the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority hereby appoints James Fiedler, Contra Costa County, representing the East Bay; and Dr. Terry Young, Alameda County, filling an at-large position, to the Oversight Committee for second terms, commencing January 1, 2024 and ending December 31, 2026.

| PASSED AND ADOPTED by the G Authority at its meeting on December | | _ | | | Bay Restor | ration |
|---|---------------------|---------------------------|------------------------|----------------------------|-------------------|--------|
| AYES: Governing Board Members | Gioia, | Peskin, | Holman, | Gauthier, | Gorin, P | ine |
| NOES: Governing Board Members | | | | | | |
| ABSENT: Governing Board Membe | rs | | | | | |
| ABSTAIN: Governing Board Memb | ers | | | | | |
| Dave Pane | | | | | | |
| Dave Pine, Chair | | | | | | |
| I, Paul Johnson, Clerk of the Governi Authority, do hereby certify that the f Resolution adopted by the Governing Authority at its meeting of December this regional governmental entity. | oregoing Board o | g is a true of the Sar | e and corr Franciso | rect copy of to Bay Res | f the toration | ce of |
| Paul Johnson | | | | | | |
| Paul Johnson, Clerk | | | | | | |

Resolution 120, Exhibit A Biographies

James (Jim) Fiedler, Contra Costa County: Jim Fiedler retired in 2017 from the Santa Clara Valley Water District. He served as Chief Operating Officer from 2007 until retiring. Over his 34-year career he amassed leadership, management and engineering experience in the areas of water supply, water quality, pollution reduction, flood protection, watershed stewardship and public financing. Mr. Fiedler presently serves on the Board of Catholic Charities East Bay and as Officer Emeritus on the San Francisco Estuary Institute Board. He has also served on a variety of boards including: San Francisco Bay Planning Coalition, WateReuse Association, The Water Research Foundation, and the National Association of Flood and Stormwater Management Agencies (NAFSMA). He also served on the Contra Costa County 2018-2019 Civil Grand Jury. He currently volunteers with the Knights of Columbus and AARP Foundation Tax-Aide. Jim's first term serving as the East Bay representative for the Independent Citizens Oversight committee will expire on December 31, 2023. During his three-year term he was an active member, culminating in serving as Vice Chair in 2023.

Dr. Terry Young, Alameda County: Dr. Young has dedicated her professional life to protecting the environment. From 2006 - 2019, she was a member of the San Francisco Bay Regional Water Quality Control Board, serving as Chair from 2014 - 2019. For nearly four decades prior to her service on the Board, Dr. Young advised Bay Area environmental organizations and selected corporations on environmental science and policy, primarily in the areas of water pollution, ecological indicators, and the use of economic incentives. Dr. Young also was an appointed member of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Science Advisory Board for twelve years, where she chaired the Ecological Processes and Effects Committee and was a member of the Executive Committee. In addition, Dr. Young served on panels of National Research Council; helped to develop "The State of the Nation's Ecosystems" in 2002 and 2008 for the H. John Heinz Center for Science, Economics, and the Environment; and was a member of the Washington State Academy of Sciences Committee on Puget Sound Indicators. Dr. Young holds a Ph.D. in Agricultural and Environmental Chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley and a B.A. in Chemistry from Yale University. Dr. Young's first term serving as an atlarge representative from Alameda County for the Independent Citizens Oversight committee will expire on December 31, 2023. During her three-year term she was an active member, serving as Vice Chair during her first two years of service, and serving as Chair during her third year of service.