

# San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority Independent Citizens Oversight Committee

#### **SUMMARY MINUTES**

March 22, 2021, 8:30 am - 11:30 am

Teleconference
Agenda and attachments available at:
www.sfbayrestore.org

#### 1. Call to Order

Paul Jones, Vice-Chair, Independent Citizens Oversight Committee ("Committee"), called the meeting to order at 8:30 am.

## 2. Determination of Quorum

Committee Clerk Virgilio Cuasay determined that there was a quorum. Six members were present: Paul Jones (Acting Chair), Nancy Cave, Don Arnold, Jim Fiedler, Doug Wallace, and Terry Young.

#### 3. Public Comment

There was no public comment.

#### 4. Introductions and Announcements

Paul Jones asked Committee members and staff to introduce themselves. Committee members included Paul Jones, Don Arnold, Nancy Cave, Jim Fiedler, Doug Wallace, and Terry Young. Staff members included Brian Mayhew, SFBRA Treasurer & CFO of MTC, Karen McDowell, SFBRA Deputy Program Manager, Taylor Samuelson, SFBRA Communications Director, and Virgilio Cuasay, SFBRA Project Manager. Karen announced Governing Board Appointments effective April 1, 2021 for a 4-year term.

## 5. Approval of Oversight Committee Meeting Minutes of May 30, 2019

The Committee Meeting Minutes of July 28, 2020 were approved with 5 (Paul Jones, Nancy Cave, Don Arnold, Jim Fiedler, & Terry Young) in favor and 1 abstention, Doug Wallace. The motion to approve was started by Nancy Cave and seconded by Jim Fiedler.

## 6. Oversight Committee Operations

- A. General Information
- B. Open Seat for South Bay Representative
- C. Selection of Chair and Vice Chair
- D. Formation of Ad Hoc Subcommittee

Karen McDowell, Deputy Program Manager, SFBRA, reviewed the roles and responsibilities of the Committee.

Paul Jones was approved as Chair and Terry Young was approved as Vice Chair for a one-year term. The motion to approve was started by Jim Fiedler and seconded by Nancy Cave. The motion passed unanimously.

An ad hoc subcommittee consisting of Paul Jones, Terry Young and Nancy Cave was formed to draft the OC's report. The motion to approved was started by Terry Young and seconded by Doug Wallace. The motion passed unanimously.

#### 7. Outreach and Communications

Taylor Samuelson, Public Information Officer, San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority, reviewed the SFBRA Communications Plan.

## 8. Staff Work Plan and Program Budget

Karen McDowell described the staffing workplan and the budget using FY 19/20 Work Plan/Budget as an exhibit.

# 9. Review of Annual Report, Financial Report, and Audit

- A. Annual Report of the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority, FY 2019-2020
- B. Financial Statement and Independent Auditor's Report

Taylor Samuelson, Public Information Officer, and Karen McDowell, Deputy Program Manager, presented the Annual Report FY 19/20 and financial summary.

Brian Mayhew, SFBRA Treasurer, gave a presentation on the Financials and Independent Auditor's Report for the year ending June 30, 2020 and then answered questions from the Committee.

## 10. Discussion of Report and Potential Recommendations

- A. Areas of Focus from 2018/19 Report
- **B.** Areas of Focus for 2019//2020

Paul Jones reviewed the areas of focus from the 2018/2019 report, then led the discussion on potential areas of focus and recommendations for the 2019/2020 report. The ideas discussed will be drafted up by the ad hoc subcommittee and reviewed at the next meeting.

## 11. Oversight Committee Meeting Schedule and Next Steps

The Committee decided to hold two meetings this year to finalize their report and recommendations to the Governing Board. The next meeting will be held on April 29<sup>th</sup>, from 9 am – 11:30 am, to review and comment on the first draft report and recommendations. The Committee will meet again on May 27<sup>th</sup>, from 2pm - 4 pm to approve the report and recommendations that will be presented to the Governing Board at their June 18<sup>th</sup> meeting. The motion to approve the meeting schedule was started by Nancy Cave and seconded by Doug Wallace. The motion passed unanimously.

#### 12. Adjourn

Paul Jones adjourned the meeting at 11:33am.