Governing Board

The Governing Board of the Authority is comprised of local elected officials and oversees the management and funding allocations of the Authority. Information on Governing Board meetings can be found here:

Dave Pine was first elected to the San Mateo County Board of Supervisors in a special election in May 2011, and served as Board President in 2014.  He represents District 1 which includes Burlingame, Hillsborough, Millbrae, and portions of San Bruno and South San Francisco; the unincorporated communities of San Mateo Highlands, Baywood Park and Burlingame Hills; and the San Francisco Airport.

As chair of the SF Bay Restoration Authority, a member of the SF Bay Conservation and Development Commission, and chair of the San Francisquito Creek Joint Powers Authority, Pine works extensively on the intersecting issues of flood control, sea level rise and tidal land restoration. He also serves as the chair of the Peninsula Clean Energy Authority which provides San Mateo County residents and business with cleaner energy at competitive rates. In addition, Pine serves on the governing boards of numerous other county and regional organizations including: the Caltrain Joint Powers Board, the San Mateo County Transit District, and the Bay Area Regional Collaborative.

Aaron Peskin is a member of the San Francisco Board of Supervisors, representing District 3, which is comprised of North Beach, Chinatown, Fisherman’s Wharf, Polk Gulch, Union Square/Financial District and Russian, Nob and Telegraph Hills. He has lived in District 3 for almost thirty years.

He is currently serving his fourth non-consecutive term on the Board of Supervisors, including two terms as the unanimously-elected President of the Board. On the Board of Supervisors, Aaron Peskin continues to lead the City's work to preserve and expand its affordable housing stock, as well as set regional standards for environmental conservation and sustainable transit planning. 

Aaron Peskin has brought his 20-year experience as the President of Great Basin Land & Water, an environmental nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation and enhancement of land and water resources for public purposes, to his work at the Board of Supervisors. 

He has also championed regional collaboration while serving at the Trust for Public Land, the California Coastal Commission, the Golden Gate Bridge Authority, the Bay Conservation & Development Commission, the Sea-Level Rise Coordinating Committee and now as the Chair of the San Francisco County Transportation Authority. 

John grew up in Richmond and earned a BA in Political Science and a law degree at U.C. Berkeley.

He was first elected to the Contra Costa Board of Supervisors in 1998 and has been overwhelmingly re-elected five times and represents 210,000 residents along San Francisco Bay in the western most urban and diverse area of the county.  He previously served for 10 years on the East Bay Municipal Utility District Board, serving as President in 1995 and 1996.

John is a recognized leader in Bay Area regional government and on air quality and climate change issues.  He was appointed by Governor Brown in 2013 to the California Air Resources Board and has served on the Bay Area Air Quality Management District Board since 2006, serving as Chair in 2012.

John served as President of the California State Association of Counties and has been a leader on environmental issues and serves on the San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission (BCDC) and as Vice-Chair of the San Francisco Bay Restoration Authority where he helped lead an effort to pass an historic measure to raise $500 million for S.F. Bay.

John helped found the RYSE Center, an innovative and popular youth center in Richmond, which is grounded on principles of social justice and youth development. He is currently working with non-profit Urban Tilth to develop an urban educational farm in North Richmond.

Supervisor Gorin represents the First District of Sonoma County, which is primarily eastern Santa Rosa, Sonoma Valley bordering San Pablo Bay, and areas east to the Napa county line.  First elected in 2012, she served as Chair of the Board of Supervisors in 2015.  She serves on the Sonoma County Water Advisory Committee, Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO), Sonoma County Transportation Authority, Sonoma County Regional Climate Protection Authority, Sonoma Valley County Sanitation District, and the Sonoma County Waste Management Agency.  In addition to her County assignments, Supervisor Gorin represents the County regionally at Bay Conservation Development Commission, North Bay Water Reuse Authority and Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG).

A native of Massachusetts, Ms. Gorin and her family moved to Sonoma County in 1982. Ms. Gorin graduated from Sonoma State University in 1991, with a degree in Political Science and Economics. In 1996 Ms. Gorin was elected to the Santa Rosa School Board, subsequently served on the Santa Rosa Board of Public Utilities, and Santa Rosa Planning Commission and served as a six-year Santa Rosa City Council member and two years as Mayor.


Karen Holman, Vice President of the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District Board of Directors, has been active in the community for many years, including a long public record of environmental stewardship. She was a member of both Acterra and the City of Palo Alto Zero Waste Task Forces and has had roles in neighborhood associations and numerous non-profit organizations. In Palo Alto over the last 17 years she served as mayor, city councilmember, and planning commissioner. In 2013-14, Karen co-chaired the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District Advisory Committee, contributing to the creation of the District’s Vision Plan.

Born and raised in Missouri, Karen has lived in Palo Alto since 1975. Karen had a long career in graphic design before pursuing work in the conservation and historic preservation field, including serving as Executive Director of the Palo Alto History Museum. She holds a B.A. in graphic arts from the University of Arkansas.